Hon Life Members and past chairs.

Honorary Life Members

Deafness Forum Australia announced three new Honorary Life Members in 2022 at a ceremony held during the Hearing Australia 75th Anniversary Conference in Sydney. The presentations were made by Trent Zimmerman, former Member for North Sydney in the Australian Parliament, and a powerful advocate for people with hearing challenges and for the organisations that support them. In the photo, Trent (at left) is with new Hon. Life Members Barry MacKinnon, Ann Porter AM and Margaret Dewberry OAM.

Honorary Life Membership of Deafness Forum Australia recognises the actions and achievements of people who go above and beyond what could be reasonably expected – whose voluntary contribution to the community stands out from others who may have also made a valuable contribution.

Life Members from previous years:

  • John Bartlett, SA
  • Alex Jones, NSW
  • Peter Lindley, QLD
  • Margaret Robertson, VIC
  • Brian Rope OAM, ACT
  • Jenny Rosen AM, NSW
  • Andrew Stewart, NSW
  • Robert Quail, QLD

Deafness Forum Australia chairpersons since its inception in 1993

  • Libby Harricks AM
  • Dereck Ward
  • Cath Bonnes AM
  • Stan Batson
  • Margaret Roberston
  • Alex Jones
  • David Brady (current)