MINUTES

Annual General Meeting 2020

3 February 2021 National webcast



1. WELCOME

Deafness Forum of Australia Chairperson David Brady opened the Annual General Meeting at 2.00pm AEDT.

Communication access was confirmed.

Proxies were admitted.

Quorums in the four membership categories were confirmed.

The Chair conducted Acknowledgement of Country.

The Chair offered condolences to family, friends and colleagues of Leonie Jackson, CEO of The Deaf Society and adviser to the Deafness Forum (dec. Jan 2021); and to Alisha Hill, advocate for deafblind Australians (dec. Dec 2020).

2. CHAIRPERSON'S REPORT

David Brady spoke about the challenges and achievements in the period, and acknowledged the contributions of volunteers.

3. MINUTES OF PREVIOUS ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING

RESOLUTION 1

The Annual General Meeting accepts the minutes of the 2019 Annual General Meeting as a true record.

Moved: David Brady

Seconded: Raelene Walker

All in favour and nil against in each membership voting class.

Carried

4. MATTERS ARISING FROM THE PREVIOUS MEETING

No matters were raised.

5. FINANCIAL MATTERS

Treasurer/finance committee chair Anthony Whelan provided a summary of the year's financial activity and outcomes.

MINUTES Annual General Meeting 2020

3 February 2021 National webcast



RESOLUTION 2

The Annual General Meeting:

- Accepts the 2019-20 audited financial statement as presented; and
- Appoints Les Ellis and Associates as the company's auditor.

Moved: Anthony Whelan Seconded: Barry MacKinnon

All in favour and nil against in each membership voting class.

Carried

6. APPOINTMENT OF DIRECTORS

RESOLUTION 3

The Annual General Meeting confirms the appointment of Rhonda Locke and Edwin Tucker as members of the Board of Deafness Forum of Australia.

Moved: Stephen Williamson Seconded: Emma Scanlan

All in favour and nil against in each membership voting class.

Carried

The Board of Deafness Forum of Australia will be:

- David Brady, Hearing Impaired Consumer nominee
- Michelle Courts, Parent nominee
- Rhonda Locke, Ear Disorders Consumer nominee
- Raelene Walker, Deaf (Auslan) Consumer nominee
- Rhonda Locke, Ear Disorders Consumer nominee
- Edwin Tucker, Service Provider nominee
- Anthony Whelan, Hearing Impaired Consumer nominee
- Jeffrey Johnson, Parent nominee

The meeting acknowledged the contributions of retiring directors:

MINUTES Annual General Meeting 2020

3 February 2021 National webcast



- Beatrice Tarnawski, Ear Disorders Consumer nominee
- Cameron Miller, Deaf (Auslan) consumer nominee

7. OTHER BUSINESS

No other business.

8. MEETING CLOSED

The Annual General Meeting was closed at 2:30pm AEDT.

Approved as a true and accurate record of the Deafness Forum Ltd Annual General Meeting 2020.

David Brady, chairperson Date