News

Selected category: News

Watch the Chairman’s annual report to members and friends

Members and friends of Deafness Forum of Australia attended the organisation's annual general meeting conducted as a webcast on 3 February 2021. Chairman David Brady presented his report on Deafness Forum's activities in the last financial year. The 'live' webcast...

Hearing loss linked to dementia

A six-year study of older Australians has uncovered an Australian-first association between the impact of hearing loss on cognitive abilities and increased risk for dementia. In Australia, hearing loss affects 74% of people aged over 70. International studies estimate...

Tiny batteries – big danger

Button batteries are lurking everywhere in your home — hearing aids, remote controls, kitchen scales, birthday cards, children's toys and countless other products. If swallowed, a button battery can become stuck in a child’s throat and result in catastrophic injuries...

Annual General Meeting

Members and friends of Deafness Forum of Australia are invited to attend the annual general meeting conducted as a Zoom webcast on Wednesday 3 February 2021. 2:00pm - 3:00pm AEDT (ACT/NSW/TAS/VIC time) 1:30pm - 2:30pm ACDT (SA time) 1:00pm - 2:00pm AEST (BNE time)...

Two types of sudden deafness

A sudden hearing loss tends to be just that, very little warning, just a sudden event. However, not all sudden deafness is sensorineural (inner ear-related). There are two types of sudden hearing loss that may happen, they are: Sudden Conductive Hearing Loss Sudden...

Change ahead for Australia’s Hearing Services Program

A review of the Hearing Services Program (HSP) is underway. A Government-appointed panel is currently reviewing the HSP to identify possible reforms to ensure that the program remains client-focused while modernising key components in the context of policy, markets...